2009 Annual Meeting

2009 1

Bryan Garner presented the Lifetime-Achievement Award to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg,who could not attend the meeting but kindly sent a DVD of her acceptance speech.

2009 12

Scribes members and their guests enjoyed a luncheon prepared by the chefs at Swissôtel Chicago.

2009 11

Legal Writing Institute board member Mark Wojcik of the John Marshall Law School–Chicago accepted the decorative scroll presented to the Legal Writing Institute in recognition of its 25th anniversary.

2009 10

Scribes President Stuart Shiffman welcomed Scribes members and their guests to the meeting.

2009 9

Legal Writing Institute board members Mark Wojcik, Kenneth Chestek, and Judy Rosenbaum, accompanied by featured speaker Ralph Brill (second from left), Joseph Kimble (second from right), and former Scribes President Otto Stockmeyer (right).

2009 8

Joseph Kimble, Editor in Chief of The Scribes Journal of Legal Writing, presented a decorative scroll to the Legal Writing Institute in recognition of its 25th anniversary.

2009 7

Former Executive Directors Joseph Kimble and Glen Peter Ahlers.

2009 6

Former Executive Director Joseph Kimble and current Executive Director Norm Plate greeted Scribes members and their guests as they arrived at the luncheon.

2009 5

Featured speaker Ralph Brill of the Chicago-Kent College of Law treated the crowd to a brief history of legal-writing programs.

2009 4

Book-Award-Committee Chair Michael B. Hyman presented the coveted Book Award to The Challenge: Hamdan v. Rumsfeld and the Fight over Presidential Power and read comments from the book’s author, Jonathan Mahler.

2009 3

Moot-Court Coach Robert Galloway (left) and Donald Guter, Dean of the South Texas College of Law (right), accompanied 2009 Brief Award winners Bridget Burke and Justin Jenson to the meeting.

2009 2

2009 Brief Award winners Justin Jenson and Bridget Burke of the South Texas College of Law.

© 2021 by Scribes



Scribes - The American Society of Legal Writers

Attn: Philip Johnson, Executive Director      
300 South State Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604


(312) 427-2737   x551

UIC School of Law is the generous host of Scribes. Thank you!