The Scribes Journal of Legal Writing

The Journal was founded by long-time Board member and Past President Bryan A. Garner. Current editor-in-chief, Professor Mark Cooney, and his staff work tirelessly to bring us first-rate scholarship on legal writing. Scribes is forever grateful to Bryan, Mark, Distinguished Emeritus Professor Joseph Kimble, copyeditor Karen Magnuson, and Cindy Hurst. Scribes would also like to thank editors Raymond Ward, Laurel Romanella, Jill Barton, and DeLeith Gossett. 

Scribes would like to thank the following sponsors of Volume 18 of the Scribes Journal of Legal Writing:

  • Miller Nash Graham & Dunn LLP

  • Collins Einhorn Farrell PC

  • Foster Swift Collins & Swift PC


If you'd like to submit an article for consideration, please email it directly to Professor Mark Cooney at For additional submission guidelines, please click here


Current members receive one copy of The Journal, and we send new members the most recent copy of the journal. PDFs of previous volumes are available on this page. If you'd like to receive a past edition of The Journal in print, please email HeinOnline at


Click on a journal cover below to see that edition's table of contents.

Volume 18 cover.PNG

© 2020 by Scribes



Scribes - The American Society of Legal Writers

Attn: Philip Johnson, Executive Director      
300 South State Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604


(312) 427-2737   x551

UIC John Marshall Law School is the generous host of Scribes. Thank you!