

2023 CLE Program October 13, 2023

Times	
1:00–2:00 p.m. ET	Denal Discussion: "The lise of A L in Legal Writing"
12:00–1:00 p.m. CT	Panel Discussion: "The Use of A.I. in Legal Writing"
11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. MT	This thought provoking and timely program overpines the impact of
10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. PT	This thought-provoking and timely program examines the impact of generative artificial intelligence (AI) on legal writing. Featuring a
	distinguished panel, this program will discuss the benefits and risks
	of using AI tools like ChatGPT.
	of using Ar loois like Chulder.
	Professor Joe Regalia
	Associate Professor
	William S. Boyd School of Law
	Robert Scavone, Jr.
	Appellate Lawyer,
	Florida Appeals
	Jacqueline Schafer
	Found & CEO,
	Clearbrief
	Moderator: Hon. John G. Browning
	Distinguished Jurist in Residence,
	Faulkner Univ. Thomas Goode School of Law
	Board Member & President, Scribes
2:00–2:30 p.m. ET	Recognizing Scribes Book Award Winner
1:00–1:30 p.m. CT	
12:00–12:30 p.m. MT	Join us in recognizing the 2023 Scribes Book Award winner, Professor
11:00–11:30 a.m. PT	Frederick Schauer. Professor Schauer will discuss his award-winning
	book, The Proof: Uses of Evidence in Law, Politics, and Everything Else.
	Professor Frederick Schauer
	David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law
	University of Virginia School of Law
	Moderator: Hon. Michael Hyman
	Appellate Court Justice,
	First District Appellate Court, IL
30–2:45 p.m. ET	Recognizing Scribes Best-Brief Award Winners
1:30–1:45 p.m. CT	
12:30–12:45 p.m. MT	Join us in recognizing the 2023 Best-Brief Award Co-Winners. For
11:30 a.m.–1:45 p.m. PT	the first time ever, two briefs were selected for the top honor.
	Introduction by: Charles Dewey Cole
	Partner, Newman Myers Kreines Harris, P.C.
	Karin Callenna and Care Davis
	Kevin Collareno and Sean Dunne
	University of Illinois Chicago College of Law
	Taylor Holley
	Texas Tech University School of Law
2:45–3:00 p.m. ET	
3:45–4:00 p.m. CT	Presenting the 2023 Scribes Distinguished Service Award
2:45–3:00 p.m. MT	
1:45–2:00 p.m. PT	We will close the ceremony by announcing the recipient of the 2023
	Scribes Distinguished Service Award.