we write


We seek to create an interest in writing about the law and to promote a clear, succinct, and forceful

style in legal writing.


Katrina Lee Featured in Bloomberg Column

Board member Katrina Lee can be found discussing representation of Asian American women in media in a Bloomberg Law column on the Netflix series "Partner Track." Read the column here

Professor Lee is the Director of Program on Dispute Resolution at Ohio State's Mortiz College of Law.

Check Out Justice Michael Hyman's "Hyproverbs"

Justice Hyman's recently-published collection of 50 legal proverbs is available here.

This piece originally appeared in the CBA Record, the flagship publication of the Chicago Bar Association.  Justice Michael B. Hyman, a former Scribes president, is also the editor-in-chief of the CBA Record. 

Second Sunday Series for Law Review Editors

Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers is pleased to announce a free monthly webinar series designed for editors of student-edited law reviews and their faculty advisors. 


The first webinar is on Sunday, March 13; it is designed for outgoing and incoming editors and focuses on effective editorial board transitions. The remaining webinars are designed for 2022-2023 editor, although outgoing editors are encouraged to attend in April and May with their incoming counterparts. The April 10 program is designed for EICs, Articles Editors, and others who work with lead authors. 


For more information, contact scribeslegalwriters@gmail.com.


The Scribes Manual for Law Review Editors Has Been Released

Dean Darby Dickerson and Professor Brooke Bowman have edited The Scribes Manual for Law Review Editors. This book is “the definitive source for student-editors who seek to excel in their positions and improve their journals.”

Read a review here, and order a copy here.

Congratulations to Our 2022 Award Winners!

We are pleased to announce the winners of our Book, Brief, and Law Review Awards.

Presumed Guilty by Dean Erwin Chemerinsky won this year's Book Award.

Morgan Vastag and Tanner Herrmann of University of Oklahoma College of Law won the Brief Award for their brief written for the Andrews Kurth Tournament of Champions.

And Mona Alsaidi's comment for the Temple Law Review,  Legally White, Effectively Othered: Recognizing and Investing in Arab American Communities, won our law review award.